colour moods

Recently, I seem to have been in this kind of a colour mood:

pimpelliese, hand-knit socks, and yarn

pimpelliese, hand-knit socks, and yarn

In the far back is a generic slouchy hat, no idea what the yarn is, as I stole it from the fiber arts club at school.

Upper left is a modified Pimpelliese. Yarn is Knit Picks Wool of the Andes tonal (discontinued, Canopy colourway). My modifications can be found here. I really should take some photos with it, but I wore it to school while it was still damp from blocking, so now it has a nice neck-shaped crease along one side. I’m hoping to get around to re-blocking it soon.

The socks towards the front are Noro Stripey Socks made with Knit Picks chroma fingering (in discontinued colourways again, Elfin and Riverrock).

noro stripey socks in Knit Picks chroma fingering, riverrock and elfin colourways

noro stripey socks in Knit Picks chroma fingering, riverrock and elfin colourways

The balls of brown and blue are what I really want to be working on, but I have something else I have to finish first. I’m so antsy to knit the colours up, they’ve been stuck in my head for months.

Instead, I’m knitting these for my mother (for Mother’s Day, per her suggestion), because she buys me yarn sometimes. But the colours aren’t anything that I’m excited to work on right now. See?

nine-to-five sock, in Knit Picks stroll tonal, queen anne colourway

nine-to-five sock, in Knit Picks stroll tonal, queen anne colourway

(Nine to Five socks, in Knit Picks Stroll tonal, Queen Anne colourway)

That’s the first sock. I’ve been knitting it (and nothing else) for over a week. I just can’t seem to get through it. Uggggh. Thankfully, it’s mindless knitting that I can get done while watching Malcolm in the Middle. I just hope it doesn’t consume my whole spring break.

Finally, there’s Sacre du Printemps in Malabrigo Sock, primavera colourway.  Since they were named after Spring twice, I bust ass getting them done by mid-March so that I could wear them through Spring.

Now, back to knitting the pink swirly barf.

leave a comment

